1. Welcome to the North American Tamiya Mini 4WD Forum ! Get in and get involved, post today!
    Dismiss Notice

First FMS2 build

Discussion in 'Super I / II' started by Corweena, Aug 10, 2018.

1. Corweena

Corweena Spacer

Over the past coupe of days, for my next Open class car I've been building my first FMS2. This is the 4th chassis I've played with in open class.....my other current cars are 2 MS suspension cars, and an S2. I also raced an MA Flex car, but due to the flex nature I would go through chassis like crazy, so I'm stepping away from that for a bit. In its place, I decided to try a little more advanced build, and something I've never done before.

Big thanks to Jan (z3nbluster) for his FMS2 build video, it gave me all the info I needed for reversing the S2 transmission and battery fitment.

As far as the overall setup for the car, I had a few goals.....short roller wheelbase, and lighter weight. I tend to overbuild my cars a bit to help with strength and longevity. This time however, I wanted to cut down the weight as much as possible, without going too crazy. I also brought the rollers in as close to the wheels as I could without any contact. This also allowed me to extend the tail of the car, which should improve the jump stability of the car.

This is how the car sits so far....I have a few things I know I need to do......trim down some screws, cut another front stabilizer, buy 2 more pairs of red lightweight rollers to match the front. I can now also go back and trim down some parts a bit more to save on weight. And lastly, decide what kind of body to run on this thing (the hardest part).

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

gonfan and Drew like this.
  2. Corweena

Corweena Spacer